Hamburg (travel diary-ish 1)

I am currently on holiday, travelling Northern Germany with my family, and it would be very unlike me if I didn’t bring my camera.
Just after hopping out the public bus that brought us to the center of Hamburg and taking some pictures of dozing pigeons, I figured I could as well share some of my impressions on here, because:

  1. Why not?
  2. Collecting thoughts and pictures here is kind of the purpose of this blog and it might be nice to look back on to.

So let me just share some photos of two days in rainy Hamburg, St. Michael’s Church, the port, Elbphilharmonie, the Warehouse District and the Miniatur Wunderland museum.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Being fully aware that you can’t grasp a city as big as Hamburg (1,86 Mio. inhabitants, according to Wikipedia) it has still made an intriguing and positive impression. The combination of water, a lot of bricks, old buildings next to modern ones and a unique atmosphere really managed to make me want to come back one day. Not even the bad weather threw me off, however, I’d like to see Hamburg’s streets floated with sunshine the next time.

 

(Photos were as always taken by me, I didn’t have the nerve to edit them besides adding a watermark.)

Leave a Reply

