motivation

Okay, first of all – I’ve neglected this blog for far too long and I’m feeling like a bad person for it.
But that’s the reason I’m writing this post: a collection of bad excuses for myself and the promise to write more frequently in the future. (But let’s be honest, I know myself, so this will probably not happen.)

I just couldn’t make myself do anything productive these days. Drawing, writing, editing that video I’ve been working on, even reading – no chance. I was trapped in a spiral of procrastination, promising myself to change my attitude towards working, complaining about my chores, watching my to-do list grow, ending up ticking none of the points on it and feeling bad about it.
No matter how much I wanted to leave my comfy sofa and finally get my shit together, my brain refused to obey.

But is there a reason for this creative slump? I personally blame the ending of my vacation, meaning the return of all my inevitable responsibilities, combined with the beginning of Autumn, the darkness in the mornings, the cold following my every step I take. (But I’ve already posted a whole post complaining about that issue.)
This mixture just felt like a huge wave of negativity breaking over my head, pulling me down with it and keeping me low on the floor.

So what should I do about it? Stay on my sofa, giving in to the negative feelings, allowing my frustration to hold me captive? I must admit that I did for too long. I want to change that. I want my motivation back, that creative source to bubble again.

That’s why I’m trying to keep my mind focused on the positive aspects of life, regardless of possible downsides. I’ll fight that grumpy, growling dragon if that’s necessary to win my motivation back.

Leave a Reply

