I hate winter

Hi.

Let’s get that out of the way first, before I actually start with that post:
I’m not a person of many talents, but complaining is definitely one of them.

One of my other talents is spending way too much time on my phone, scrolling my Instagram or Tumblr feed. While enjoying my procrastination spree I’ve stumbled across loads of posts expressing that people eagerly await Autumn. Yep.

People are looking forward to Autumn.

If you happen to be one of those persons – why?
I personally don’t get the joy of wearing multiple layers of sweaters, having to drink themed hot beverages to warm your frozen fingers and soul, the fact that the sun vanishes at 5p.m., all the leaves that turn brown and crusty and fall on the ground, the inevitable mush consisting of those dead leaves and the rain that keeps you inside.

But Autumn isn’t even the worst part about Autumn itself. It is the Winter that follows, this grim, dark season bringing even more coldness and darkness and won’t leave for half a year.

Don’t get me wrong, it is totally fine if you enjoy those seasons and want to treasure them – but I just can’t understand the reasons.

How are you able to get up in the morning when it’s still dark outside, how are you able to leave your bed when everything around it seems to be freezing?

Spring always seems so promising to me, so full of life when the first blades of grass appear between remains of the snow and mud, when the first flowers start blooming, when leaves sprout again. My mood gets better automatically when the sky is blue again, and stays blue for more than a couple of hours. My bad humour melts when the first warm sunrays reach the earth.

And I miss all of that above in Winter. Just as Spring promises to be lighter, Autumn promises Winter. And I hate that promise.
Do you?

Leave a Reply

